Search this blog

13 January 2014

PENTHOUSE RECORDS 25 Years: The Journey Continues (Double CD plus DVD)

Release Dates: UKJan. 13th // FRFeb. 3rd // GAS & RoEJan. 17th
Catalog #: VP1935
Legendary Jamaican producer Donovan Germain and his Penthouse label productions have made an indelible mark in the history of reggae music. To commemorate 25 years since the founding of Penthouse recording studio, VP Records and Mr. Germain have collaborated on the new release Penthouse Records 25 Years  - The Journey Continues. The 2 CD/DVD collection will be available on January 13, 2014.

The Penthouse Records 25 audio discs highlight essential hits, new tracks from its current roster and two unreleased tracks from the legendary Garnett Silk (My Favorite Song and a remix of his classic Everything I Got).  

Hosted by Mr. Germain himself, the bonus DVD is an hour and 45 minute journey through the history of the studio and label and features many the key players in Jamaican music. Interviews include original Penthouse crew members Tony Rebel, Richie Stephens, Wayne Wonder, Marcia Griffiths and Beres Hammond.

The Penthouse studio – originally located at 56 Slipe Road in Kingston, Jamaica – produced many of the genre's biggest hits during the late 1980s and 1990s and has continued to churn out chart-topping anthems since relocating in 1998 to its current address 6 Ballater Avenue. Founder Donovan Germain produced world-class recordings alongside the island's top engineers and studio musicians of the time – including Steven Stanley, Dave & Tony Kelly, Michael "Coolie" Cooper, Steely & Clevie, Sly & Robbie, Firehouse Crew, Steven "Lenky" Marsden and Mafia & Fluxy – and played an instrumental role in developing the careers of reggae stars Buju Banton (cranking out the most No. 1 singles for the reggae icon to date), Wayne Wonder, Cutty Ranks, Richie Stephens, Beres Hammond, Romain Virgo, Queen Ifrica and more.

In addition to these artists, the deluxe 47-song collection features today’s crop of Penthouse artists, including Dalton Harris, D Major, Exco Levi, RC and Shuga. Producer and visionary Donovan Germain's quest for excellence is evident.  He says "it’s all about the next hit song," and for Penthouse Records the journey continues… 

Support good music ! 
 Buy it on your local iTunes store here !

PENTHOUSE RECORDS 25 Years : The Journey Continues - track listing

1.    Sanchez One In A Million
2.    Marcia Griffiths Deep In My Heart
3.    Chaka Demus Chaka On The Move
4.    Nigger Mikey Ting Deh (Thing Deh)
5.    Beres Hammond Love Mi Haffi Get
6.    Cutty Ranks Pon Mi Nozzle
7.    Michigan & Smiley Tom’s Diner
8.    Beres Hammond, Dennis Brown, Freddie McGregor & Glen Ricks Love Within The Music
9.    Dennis Brown Brought Me Love
10.  Tiger Crying Fool
11.  General Degree Brinks
12.  Capleton Prophet
13.  Buju Banton & Beres Hammond Who Say
14.  Terry Ganzie Treat The Woman
15.  Nadine Sutherland Wicked And Wild
16.  Garnett Silk Everything I Got (remix)
17.  Terror Fabulous Order
18.  Carol Gonzales Spoiled By Your Love
19.  Buju Banton No Respect (remix)
20.  Wayne Wonder I’d Die Without You
21.  Richie Stephens Forever
22.  Buju Banton Oh God Of My Salvation
23.  Buccaneer, Cutty Ranks & Marcia Griffiths Good Director

1.    Jahmali El Shaddai
2.    Twiggi Tears On My Pillow
3.    Sean Paul Nah Get No Bligh
4.    Da’Ville Mr. Sea
5.    Beres Hammond My Pride And Joy
6.    Buju Banton Go If You Want
7.    Queen Ifrica Below The Waist
8.    Freddie McGregor United We Stand
9.    Marcia Griffiths & Da’Ville All My Life
10.  Romain Virgo Mi Caan Sleep
11.  Beres Hammond I Feel Good
12.  Queen Ifrica Lioness On The Rise
13.  Tony Rebel I Can’t Recall
14.  Exco Levi Bleaching Shop
15.  Richie Stephens & Dennis Brown Brickwall
16.  Busy Signal Comfort Zone
17.  Beres Hammond No Candle Light
18.  RC When I Was Your Man
19.  Dalton Harris You Will Know
20.  Garnett Silk My Favorite Song
21.  D Major Real Know Real
22.  Sherieta Reggae Is Life
23.  Shuga Ebony
24.  Dean Fraser Saxophone Stories

Running time 1:45
Check out Wayne Wonder I’d Die Without You Video taken from the album: 

Bookmark and Share