Search this blog

29 October 2013

GYPTIAN 'Sex, Love & Reggae' - New Album OUT !

GYPTIAN ‘Sex, Love & Reggae’
Release Dates: UK & FR: Oct. 28th // GAS & RoE: Nov. 1st
Catalog #: VP1935
The MOBO and Soul Train award-winning Jamaican singer Gyptian returns with his fourth studio album Sex, Love and Reggae on October 28 on VP Records, a marked departure from his previous releases that unveils another layer of his artistry. The musically diverse set - that takes the listener from dancehall to soca to global pop and R&B sounds - follows his 2010 critically-acclaimed album Hold You and its RIAA certified Gold title track.

17-track set is co-executive produced by Jerry “Wonda” Duplessis, who is known for cranking out hits for superstars such as Miguel, Mary J. Blige, Lupe Fiasco, The Fugees and many more. The album features guest appearances from R&B divas Estelle and Melanie Fiona to soca stars Bunji Garlin and Kes The Band. Global dancehall ambassadors Major Lazer also lent a hand with co-production on the title track.

“This is the Gyptian album that I want people to hear,” the singer says. "Each album that I do advances my career but this one is Gyptian – the next level.”

Sex, Love and Reggae is a spicy and sweet mixture, just as the title would imply.  He displays his playful side with wine-inducing anthems like Non Stop and Wine Slow (which already received over 7.5 million YouTube views for the lyrics video alone) and reveals his affectionate side on romantic ballads like Royal Love feat. Estelle and the breathtaking rendition of this Gregory Isaacs classic My Number One. He even delves outside of the genre and recreates Cyndi Lauper’s True Colors which was part of Chevrolet and MTV Iggy’s "Cover The World" campaign.

Bringing a much-needed dose of reggae back to the airwaves, the album’s latest single Vixen is currently picking up steam on radio stations across the U.S. and U.K. and will drop a new video directed by Jamaica’s talented Ras Kassa (of Damian "Jr. Gong" Marley’s Welcome To Jamrock fame). The sultry anthem is co-written by and features Angela Hunte, the Grammy-winning artist who also penned Jay-Z’s Empire State of Mind.  

“Vixen is a song for the really strong women, who like to be in control. It’s for all the boss ladies.” Gyptian says. 

“It’s all about being versatile,” Gyptian says of the album, and his perspective on music overall. “For me, there’s no boundaries in music. Pick one—there is a Gyptian song in that category for you.”

The video of his new single Vixen featuring Angela Hunte has just been unleashed via our UK partners SB.TV. Check it out and spread the word: 

Also, check the offical album trailer : 

Get your copy of Sex, Love &Reggae here :

GYPTIAN Sex, Love & Reggae - Track list

1.       G Spot (Intro)
2.       A Reggae Morning
3.       Be Alright
4.       I’m So
5.       Overtime
6.       Vixen (feat. Angela Hunte)
7.       Sex, Love & Reggae (feat. Angela Hunte & Bunji Garlin)
8.       Non Stop
9.       Wet Fete (feat. Kes The Band)
10.    Turn Me On
11.    Wine Slow
12.    One More Time (feat. Melanie Fiona)
13.    Majestic Love (feat. Estelle)
14.    Good Girls
15.    Murderer
16.    True Colors

17.    My Number One 

Bookmark and Share