Search this blog

27 August 2013

THE MIGHTY DIAMONDS : UK Tour + 'Pass The Knowledge' (Reggae Anthology 2CD+DVD)

The definite anthology of the legendary Mighty Diamonds is out now !
40 tracks in a double CD digipack set + a live DVD !

Release Dates: UK: August 26th // GAS: August 30th // FR: September 30th
Catalog #: VP5010
Pass The Knowledge, the latest in VP’s critically acclaimed Reggae Anthology series shines the spotlight on The Mighty Diamonds.
And to support this release, they will be touring in the UK in October. 
See details at the bottom of the post. 

Collecting together 40 of their greatest hits including many tracks making their CD debut as well as a number of previously unreleased dubplate exclusives, Pass The Knowledge is brimful of roots classics like The Right Time, I Need A Roof, Identity, Gates Of Zion, Pass The Kouchie etc. 

The Mighty Diamonds have stayed true their roots since inception, still going strong today with an unchanged line up, Pass The Knowledge is a long overdue retrospective that showcases them at their very very best. 

A DVD of The Mighty Diamonds live at Reggae Sunsplash is also included showcasing that the Diamonds have always been equally at home on stage as they are in the studio.
See full track list at the bottom of the post. 

Also, here are the details of the UK tour in October :
Thurs. 17th : LEEDS (Wardrobe)
Fri. 18th : MANCHESTER (Band On The Wall)
Sat. 19th : BIRMINGHAM (The Institute)
Sun. 20th : GLASGOW (O2 ABC Glasgow)
Tues. 22nd :  BRIGHTON (Coalition)
Wed. 23rd : EXETER (Phoenix)
Thurs. 24th : LONDON (Clapham Grand)
Fri. 25th NORWICH (Arts Centre)
Sat. 26th : LIVERPOOL (District)
Sun. 27th : LONDON (Bridge Park)

And to wrap this up, check these rare footages of the vocal trio at Channel One's !

Pray Unto Thee at Channel One studio :

THE MIGHTY DIAMONDS 'Pass The Knowledge' (Reggae Anthology) 

CD 1
1.     Back Weh (You No Mafia)  
2.     Right Time   
3.     Have Mercy   
4.     Just Can't Figure Out +   
5.     Jah Jah Bless The Dreadlocks +   
6.     Jail House ^
7.     Cat-O-Nine ^  
8.     Africa   
9.     Shame & Pride   
10.   Country Living  
11.   I Need A Roof   
12.   Ghetto Living +   
13.   Identity +
14.   Gypsy Woman +
15.   Keep On Moving ^   
16.   Just Like A River +   
17.   Let Jah Sun Shine ^  
18.   Swell Headed (dubplate) *
19.   I Want To Know (dubplate) *
20.   Rocky Road (dubplate) *

CD 2
1.     Pass The Kutchie   
2.     Bodyguard   
3.     Struggling ^   
4.     Gates Of Zion ^
5.     Brother Man   
6.     Morgan The Pirate   
7.     Eyes On Africa +   
8.     Jah Will Work It Out  
9.     Pray Unto Thee   
10.   Tamarind Farm      
11.   Mr Chin Slippers ^
12.   Pass The Knowledge   
13.   Let The Dollar Circulate ^  
14.   Heads Of Government   
15.   Fight It Out There ^   
16.   Party Time ^   
17.   Hypocrites (dubplate) *
18.   Survival (dubplate) *
19.   Lovely Lady +   
20.   The Last Dance (Last Waltz) ^

DVD : Live At Reggae Sunsplash 1992
1.     Right Time
2.     Have Mercy
3.     Natural Natty
4.     Pass The Kutchie
5.     There Is No Me Without You

* notes all dubplate exclusives never before released in any format

^ notes tracks never before released on CD

+ notes tracks that have previously appeared on various artist compilation but are new too Mighty Diamonds compact disc / download

Bookmark and Share