Search this blog

27 August 2013


VP Records & Vans Join Forces on Groundbreaking Compilation That Merges U.S. & European Top Reggae Acts with Jamaica’s Leading Artists

Collaborations include Slightly Stoopid, Inner Circle & Capleton
Bad Brains & Angelo Moore of Fishbone, SOJA & Gentleman, Rebelution & I-Wayne, Alborosie, Natty & Busy Signal, John Brown’s Body & Peetah Morgan...

Release Dates: UK: September 2nd // GAS & RoE: September 6th
Catalog #: VP1907

"The album celebrates the lasting impact and evolving sound of reggae music in the 21st century"  Rolling Stone

H.R. of Bad Brains and Angelo Moore of Fishbone collaborate regularly on film and at events, but Ragga Dub is the first official song they have recorded for release. This historic collaboration between two American architects of ska reggae's merge with punk rock music was produced by Bad Brains' Darryl Jenifer and Gary "Dr. Know" Miller as well as Neil Robertson and remixed by Miguel aka Perro Bravo (an original producer and performer for Sublime).
Today, reggae music continues to thrive with a set of new acts who have brought the genre full circle. However, unlike in decades past, this evolution is not emanating exclusively from Jamaica.  With our 21st century access to technology, reggae has become a global community, and new styles can emerge from all corners of the globe. In almost every sub-genre of reggae music, there is a foreign artist who is making a significant impact. Dub Rockers Volume 1 is a recognition of this reality, and has been a unification process for the community at large. This album is intended to break down barriers and cross borders.

As the official sponsor, Vans will host a Dub Rockers’ album release party at their House of Vans skate park and music venue in Brooklyn, NY and release a limited edition mid-top black sneaker donning Rastafarian accents of red, gold and green. Professional skateboarder and DJ John Cardiel, who is sponsored by Vans, will contribute a Dub Rockers Volume 1 mixtape and also participate in various events around the album release. Billboard gave the full inside scoop about this exciting venture between the historic reggae record label and California based skate-shoe company and also premiered the compilation’s first video Only Man In The World featuring Hawaii’s Anuhea and Jamaica’s Tarrus Riley.

Watch video for Anuhea and Tarrus Riley’s Only Man In The World:

Videos for Slightly Stoopid's No Cocaine featuring Capleton & Inner Circle and Bad Brains' Ragga Dub featuring Angelo Moore of Fishbone have also been shot and are currently in production. These visuals, directed by Jeff Pliskin of Raised Fist Propaganda, are slated to drop around anytime soon.

Pre-order DUB ROCKERS Vol. 1 now on iTunes:

Facebook :
Twitter :


1.  Slightly Stoopid - No Cocaine (feat. Capleton)
2.  Natty - Change (Vibes & Pressure remix feat. Alborosie & Busy Signal)
3.  Bad Brains - Ragga Dub (feat. Angelo Moore) (Perro Bravo remix)
4.  John Brown's Body - The Gold (feat. Peetah Morgan) (Dubmatix double dutch remix)
5.  Anuhea - Only Man In The World (feat. Tarrus Riley)
6.  The Aggrolites - Complicated Girl (feat. Etana)
7.  Augustus Pablo & Tommy McCook - Java (Prince Polo remix)
8.  The Expendables - Ganja Smugglin' (feat. Eek-A-Mouse)
9.  Rebelution - So High (feat. I-Wayne)
10. SOJA - I Tried (feat. Gentleman & Tamika)

Bookmark and Share