Search this blog

23 April 2013

YELLOWMAN - Young, Gifted & Yellow (Reggae Anthology 2CD/DVD)

The Reggae Anthology of the Jamaica's first dancehall superstar, Yellowman.
Release Dates: UK: April 22nd // GAS and rest of Europe : April 26th // France: June 17th
Catalog number: VP5003
This week, 17th North Parade unlocks its vaults once again to unveil the latest Reggae Anthology, Yellowman's Young, Gifted and Yellow, from the undisputed king of dancehall. 
This powerful 2CD/DVD collection features 40 fully remastered essential tracks of both classic and obscure material throughout Yellowman's prolific career.
The first set of the anthology opens with his early ‘80s breakthrough hits like Mad Over Me recorded for Channel One, Death of Barnabas, Operation Eradication and the infamously ‘slack’ Shorties. The second disc moves toward his later hits like Who Can Make the Dance Ram (a rewrite of The Candy Man), Zungguzungguguzungguzeng (one of Jamaica’s most sampled songs to this day), Nobody Move Nobody Get Hurt and a cover of Fats Domino’s Blueberry Hill.

Feel like buying it ? Click on the iTunes link here.
Check out this extract from the DVD :

Don't Bun It Dung (Live at Reggae Sunsplash in 1988) 

CD 1
  1.    Mad Over Me
  2.    Shorties
  3.    Soldier Take Over (w/ Fathead)
  4.    Lost Mi Love
  5.    Mister Chin
  6.    Mr. Wrong (w/ Fathead)
  7.    Herbman Smuggling (w/ Fathead)
  8.    Eventide Fire
  9.    Operation Eradication (w/ Fathead)
10.    Out Of Hand
11.    Them A Fight I
12.    Death Of Barnabas
13.    King & Queen (w/ Sister Nancy)
14.    Yellowman Getting Married
15.    I’m Getting Divorced (w/ Fathead)
16.    Morning Ride
17.    Night Flight
18.    Top Form
19.    Water Rock (w/ Fathead)
20.    Duppy Or A Gunman

CD 2
  1.    Zungguzungguguzunggezeng
  2.    Who Can Make The Dance Ram
  3.    Quiet
  4.    Bunn The Kutchie
  5.    The Girl Is Mine (w/ Peter Metro)
  6.    Ram Jam (a.k.a. Wreck A Pum-Pum)
  7.    Body Move
  8.    Nobody Move Nobody Get Hurt
  9.    Galong Galong Galong
10.    Walking Jewelry Store
11.    Gregory Free
12.    Jah Mek Us Fe A Purpose (w/ Sister Nancy)
13.    Love Struck
14.    Ram Rub A Dub A Play (w/ Fathead)
15.    Rub And Go Down
16.    Bam Bam (with Fathead)
17.    One Yellowman Ina The Yard (w/ Fathead)
18.    Strong Mi Strong
19.    Blueberry Hill
20.    Where Is Santa Claus? (w/ Mrs. Yellowman)

DVD : Live At Reggae Sunsplash 1988

Stay connected with YELLOWMAN: Facebook

Bookmark and Share